The Division of Rheumatology is an integral component of the Department of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine and is committed to the highest levels of excellence in its three academic missions:

  1. Patient care – We offer multidisciplinary clinics for the diagnosis and treatment of patients with arthritis, musculoskeletal, autoimmune and inflammatory diseases.
  2. Research– We invest in studies of the basic aspects of the immune system and promote clinical and translational research to advance the care of patients with rheumatic diseases.
  3. Education– We have a strong and continuous commitment to clinical and basic science training. The division has trained many fellows who have gone on to populate rheumatology divisions in other medical schools as well as to key positions in industry and at the NIH

Established over fifty years ago, the division is proud of its track record in all of its missions and is a recognized leader in the training of academic rheumatologists.

  • The division conducts several specialized clinics, including the Lupus Clinic, Vasculitis Clinic, Transition Clinic, Rheumatology-Ophthalmology Clinic and Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Clinic in addition to general rheumatology
  • Rheumatology is home to the Rheumatic Diseases Research Resource-based Center, which was started by Wayne Yokoyama, MD in 2001. Since 2018, the Center is helmed by Christine Pham, MD and Deborah Lenschow, MD, PhD.
  • The division has a 55-year history of helping to develop the careers of academic investigators, supported by an NIH T32 training grant that has been in existence 40+ years