Dr. Seth Eisen Selected as Distinguished Alumni Scholarship Program Honoree

Seth Eisen, MD, MSc

The division of Rheumatology is proud to announce the Distinguished Alumni Scholarship Program (DASP), a prestigious initiative that grants four-year, full-tuition scholarships to four outstanding entering students each year. Established in 1989, DASP aims to recognize excellence, foster mentorship, and encourage philanthropy within the medical community. This year, one of the distinguished faculty honorees of […]

2024 Dean’s Impact Awards Announced

Deborah Lenschow, MD, PhD and Lisa Zickuhr, MD, MHPE of DOM-Rheumatology have been selected for the 2024 Dean’s Impact Award Recognizing Outstanding Mentorship and Sponsorship. Congratulations Deborah and Lisa!

John P. Atkinson, MD of Rheumatology Announced as AAI 2024 Distinguished Fellow

John P. Atkinson, MD has been announced as American Association of Immunologists (AAI) 2024 Distinguished Fellows of AAI. This program annually recognizes members for distinguished careers and outstanding scientific contributions as well as their service to AAI and the immunology community. It honors active, long-term members (25 or more years) who have demonstrated one or […]

Three Rheumatology physicians named 2023 WashU Physicians Top Doctors®

Congratulations to our Rheumatology physicians recognized on the 2023 Castle Connolly Top Doctors® List. This year there are 1,063 physicians on the St. Louis list, 412 are Washington University physicians, three of them are Rheumatology physicians.

Rheumatology 2023 Graduation

Congratulations to our graduating fellows, Dr. Amaad Rana & Dr. Mo Khalid, receiving the Schwartz Fellowship Award Dr. Mohammed Hamid and receiving the Dr. Richard Brasington Teaching Award, Dr. Hector Molina. We had a wonderful ceremony this afternoon to celebrate these wonderful physicians!

Vladimir Despotovic, MD recognized as a 2023 Dean’s Impact Award Recipient

Kudos to Dr. Despotovic for being recognized as a 2023 Dean’s Impact Award Recipient. The awards recognize faculty whose exceptional dedication and selfless response to the pandemic went beyond expectations. Vlad tirelessly advocated, comforted, and supported patients and their families in the MICU while assuming many responsibilities including surge planning, protocol development and implementation under […]

Rheumatology’s Glenda Bullock included in Women We Admire’s Top 50 Women Leaders of Missouri for 2022

Glenda Bullock, Senior Director, Research Administration, Department of Medicine, Washington University in St. Louis, was named to the Top 50 Women Leaders of Missouri for 2022 by Women We Admire, an organization that provides news and information on today’s women leaders across a variety of fields. Women We Admire awards this recognition to women who are “leading within […]

Atinuke “Tinu” Aluko, MD chosen to receive the 2022 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award

Dr. Atinuke Aluko, Division of Rheumatology, received the Knowlton Incentive for Excellence award during an award ceremony hosted by The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital on November 28, 2022. The awards recognize and support medical residents who exemplify a compassionate spirit combined with outstanding knowledge and skill. Congratulations Dr. Aluko!

Roseanne Zhao, MD, PhD awarded the 2021 ACR Distinguished Fellow Award

Congratulations, Dr. Zhao! “I am honored to be a Distinguished Fellow Award recipient this year. This recognition is significant to me as a tribute to my mentors, whose invaluable teaching and guidance over the years have shaped and continue to shape my development and growth as a physician and a scientist. I also would like […]

Dr. Can Sungur has been selected for the Washington University School of Medicine chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society announces class of 2021

On behalf of the WUSM AOA Committee, we are thrilled to announce Dr. Can Sungur election to the AOA Class of 2021! Dr. Sungur was nominated by Dr. Christine Pham who attested to his qualifications as a nominee in the House Officer category as described in the election criteria below: As with all true honors, the […]

Congratulations Drs. Kim, Parks and Schwartz

Congratulations, Al Kim MD PhD, Deborah Parks MD and Benjamin Schwartz MD PhD for making the 20-21 Best Doctors in America list! Check out the full list (pdf)! 

Benjamin D. Schwartz, MD, PhD Distinguished Fellow Award

We are delighted to announce the annual Benjamin D. Schwartz, MD, PhD Distinguished Fellow Award in Rheumatology that will recognize an outstanding (first year) clinical fellow. This award is made possible by a generous endowment from Andy Chan MD, PhD and Mary Chan, MD, in recognition of Ben Schwartz, who has been a consummate physician-scientist, […]

Dr. Hsieh’s Election to the AOA

Dear Colleagues, It is our pleasure to announce Dr. Chyi Hsieh’s election to the AOA Medical Honor Society based on his professionalism, scholastic achievements, leadership and service to the medical profession and community. He will be recognized at the annual Spring AOA Initiation Banquet.

2020 Distinguished Educator

Dear Colleagues, Please join us in congratulating Dr. Seth Eisen for being selected to receive the 2020 Distinguished Educator (Postdoctoral Research Mentoring) Award! Dr. Eisen will be recognized with an award ceremony that will take place on Wednesday, February 26, 2020 at 5:00 pm in the Eric P. Newman Education Center (EPNEC).

2019 Distinguished Service Teaching Award

Dear Colleagues, Dr. Lisa Zickuhr has received the 2019 Distinguished Service Teaching Award from the Washington University School of Medicine. An award ceremony will be held on Thursday October 24, 2019. Please join us in congradulting Dr. Zickuhr for her acheivement!

ACR Distinguished Fellow Award

Dear Colleagues, Please join us in congratulating Dr. Michael Paley for being selected as this year’s recipient of the ACR Distinguished Fellow Award. Dr. Paley will be recognized at the ACR award ceremonies in Atlanta on Nov 9, 2019.

2019 Presidential Gold Medal

Dear Colleagues, We are delighted to announce that Dr. John Atkinson was chosen to receive the 2019 Presidential Gold Medal, the highest award bestowed to one individual annually by the ACR. Dr. Atkinson will be recognized at the ACR award ceremonies in Atlanta on Nov 9, 2019.